When I read the Bible as a kid I always read as if I were Jewish. Being on this side of Christ, living in AD as a Christian has caused me to miss some key elements in the biblical narrative. When I would read about the armies of Israel fighting the uncircumcised Gentiles I always imagined myself under Kind David’s command as one of his mighty men. I wondered how many Gentiles I could take on in one battle, those filthy Gentiles. But in college one pastor helped me realize my place in the story. I’m not Jewish…

 Turns out I am a filthy Gentile. My ancestors would have been the uncircumcised pagans that constantly opposed the people of God. Now I see there were two types of people, God’s people and the others, I would be one of the others. I wouldn’t be one of David’s mighty men, I’d be one of the bacon loving, creation worshipping, brothel visiting, God hating Gentiles that fell under David’s mighty sword. Turns out I’m not Samson, I’m one of the dudes he struck down with the jaw bone of a donkey. When King David says “I pursued my enemies and destroyed them, and I did not turn back until they were consumed… I beat them as fine as the dust of the earth; I crushed them and stamped them down like the mire of the streets” he means enemies like me, Gentile swine that opposed God and God’s people. 

 So why am I hung up on this? “Cool, Park, you’re Gentile scum, we get it..” Well do you? If you’re like me and you’re a Christian don’t you see why this is such a big deal? Christ died for the ungodly, both Jews and Gentiles. Under the New Covenant you and I have peace with the God of Abraham, Isaac, Jacob, David, and Solomon because of the Jewish Messiah. We get to share in the inheritance of the King of the Jews. Jesus came and fulfilled his role as messiah and sent his Jewish Apostles out into all nations to preach the gospel to Jews and Gentiles alike and to show no partiality. 

 That is seriously good news. The Jews didn’t deserve a savior right? I mean yeah they are the good guys in the Old Testament but they also butchered God’s prophets and continually broke the covenants God put forth. They didn’t deserve grace, and I’d say by definition you can’t “deserve” grace because grace is a gift you can’t earn. So if the Jewish people didn’t deserve a savior, how much less did we? We didn’t know God, we were’t people of the promise. We were common, unclean, sinners. We deserved that jaw bone from Samson but God the Father turned it on His own son for pagans like you and me?! That’s amazing!
 “For I tell you that Christ became a servant to the circumcised to show God’s truthfulness, in order to confirm the promises given to the patriarchs, and in order that the Gentiles might glorify God For his mercy. As it is written, 

 “Therefore I will praise you among the
  Gentiles,
 And sing to your name.”
And again it is said,
 “Rejoice, O Gentiles, with his people.” 
And again,
 “Praise the Lord, all you Gentiles, and let all the peoples extol him.” 
And again Isaiah says,
 “The root of Jesse will come, 
    even he who arises to rule the
      Gentiles;
 in him will the Gentiles hope.”
May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing , so that by the power of the Holy Spirit you may abound in hope.” Romans 15:8-13

 Take heart you filthy Gentile! Jesus, the root of Jesse, has come! He is King of the Jews, yes, but he has arisen to rule the Gentiles as well! Jesus Christ, the eternal Son of God, offers peace and hope to ALL and promises that ALL who call on his name will be saved, Jews and Gentiles, Jerusalem and Athens, rich or poor, God shows no partiality. Turn and believe the good news what ever your ethnicity. 

